Bad Beers

Bought two cases of empty 16 oz. Stegmaier Gold Medal bottles at the beer distributor awaiting the Belgian homebrew bottling. The bottles are brown and thick-glassed like Poindexter’s glasses. Apparently during second fermentation, thin bottles can crack and explode. Made me reticent in trying to use the modern beer bottles. The Stegmaier Gold Medal beer did win some international awards when Teddy Roosevelt was president (noted on my bottles).

My original idea of using Mason Jars to bottle was not a good one. Some writer on the web pointed out that Mason Jars operate in a vacuum, precisely the opposite effect I am attempting to inculcate. In carbonation, the lid would be pushed away from the jar, not towards it.  Duhness.

A couple of ironies here. Stegmaier was a pretty awful beer back in the day. I am hoping that this is not a bad omen about the quality of my beer. Certainly could be no worse. Bottom-feeder as it was. Second, at $ 5 apiece per case, I am sure that I paid more for empties than poor suckers paid for fulls. Or, am I the poor sucker?  Gee, I hope there is no lead in the glass…apparently the Romans had lead in their cups and plates–one theory about what contributed to their downfall.

Found postings about people commenting about the worst beers ever. Funny…

http://www.tdpri.com/forum/bad-dog-cafe/235671-worst-beer-youve-ever-had.html

Leave a Reply

