Yuengling Oktoberfest

Image

My brother and I, being of 3/4’s Germanic heritage (Mom’s side, been in US for centuries, Dad’s side, his parents immigrants from post war-torn WWI Germany–fresher Kraut) had a good laugh last weekend when we reflected on Germans holding Oktoberfest in September. How freakin’ anal and efficient.

Why not hold Oktoberfest in October? There might be a reason for this but it is probably uber-rational and efficient in that distinctive Germanic manner to the point where it simply becomes that the Teutons just can’t stand to be just in time, or God help them, late. Better to have a month’s cushion to prepare for disruption. I do thank the Lord that I have 1/4 Irish in our blood. Right brain has at least a minority stake in my consciousness, for one needs a touch of madness to stay sane.

Last weekend, I obtained a case of the Yuengling Oktoberfest from the local dive of a distributor. Ironically,, their prices are higher than the place closer to town but it is a quicker drive. I have been very pleased about how good this beer is. It actually is kicking sand in the face of the Yuengling Lager. It is fuller, maltier, and bigger. Although I am not sure how the pricing might compare to the YL, I assume it is probably a little bit higher. For the money, it is worth every penny.

In fact, as a session beer, it ranks among  some of the best beer I have had recently. Whereas the YL is a compromise of sorts, exisiting in-between the beers that suck and the craft beers at $ 30 plus a case, this Yuengling Oktoberfest delivers taste. The case I bought cost $ 24, but I figure that  at a less than wilderness outpost, one can probably get it for $ 22.

If you see a case of this, grab it. Before October.

Leave a Reply

